Welcome to Jamaica CUSD #12

Jamaica School District is located at 7087 N. 600 E. Rd, Sidell, Illinois, 61876. It serves nearly 500 students in southern Vermilion County from four nearby towns (Fairmount, Sidell, Indianola, and Jamaica) and the surrounding area.

Latest News

Toys for Tots
October 30th, 2014  |  Posted in: District News


Local campaigns are conducted annually in over 700 communities covering all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The Commander, Marine Forces Reserve has under his command 163 Reserve Units located in 47 states. To cover all 50 states and more communities in each state, the Marine Toys for Tots Foundation selects Marine Corps League Detachments and Local Community Organizations (generally veteran Marines) located in communities without a Marine Reserve Center, to conduct Toys for Tots campaigns as part of the overall U.S. Marine Corps Reserve Toys for Tots Program.

One individual, either a Marine, member of a Marine Corps League Detachment, or member of a local community organization, is designated the Toys for Tots Coordinator for that community. The Coordinator is responsible for planning, organizing and conducting the campaign in his/her community.

Melissa Castle (Fairmount) is running a campaign for collecting $$$ for Toys for Tots. If you wish to make a donation you can send it to school in an envelope marked ‘TOYS FOR TOTS.’ With a $ donation, a train will be marked with your name and displayed. Please have all donations turned in by November 3.

Special Board Meeting 10-6
October 2nd, 2014  |  Posted in: District News

The Jamaica Board of Education will hold a special meeting Monday, October 6th, 2014 @ 6:0pm in the conference room.

Download the Agenda

Vet Med Open House
September 29th, 2014  |  Posted in: Elementary News, High School News, Junior High News

The University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine will be holding an open house for all ages on Sunday, October 5 from 10am – 4pm. Admission is free, no registration required.

You’ll find 40+ exhibits and demonstrations at this student-run event. Visit vetmed.illinois.edu/openhouse for a list of exhibits or call 217.333.2761 with other questions.

The open house is located at 2001 South Lincoln Avenue, Urbana.

KIDS! You can bring your stuffed toys that need a little TLC to the Teddy Bear Repair station in the kids’ tent. We’ll do our best to fix their boo-boos.

Notice of Upcoming Public Presentations
September 25th, 2014  |  Posted in: District News

There are two upcoming public presentations from the Committee of Ten regarding the consolidation, followed by a time for Q&A.

Wednesday, October 1 @ 7:00pm in the Catlin High School Gym View Agenda

Wednesday, October 8 @ 7:00pm in the Jamaica High School Gym View Agenda

New Job Openings – Updated
August 22nd, 2014  |  Posted in: District News

New job opportunities are available. Click the links for more information.



Updated 9-25-14

Supply Lists
July 31st, 2014  |  Posted in: District News

Download the school supply list

Download the school newsletter

Reminder: School registration is August 5th and 6th from 1 to 7 pm. All grades will register in the high school computer lab. New students and new pre-K and kindergarten students who did not pre-register may register on Monday, August 4th from 9am to 2pm in the elementary office.

Statement on the Finances of Jamaica CUSD #12
March 5th, 2013  |  Posted in: Elementary News, High School News, Junior High News

Across the state and nation school districts are wrestling with financial concerns caused by decreasing revenues and increasing costs. The Jamaica Board of Education has established a goal of fiscal responsibility and is finding it more difficult to make ends meet.The state of Illinois is providing less money for student support each year. (more…)

District Goals
February 10th, 2013  |  Posted in: Elementary News, High School News, Junior High News

The Board of Education has recently approved a set of goals for the Jamaica School District. While the goals are lofty, they do provide us with a target at which to aim. Over the next few months, the administration and staff will develop a strategic plan for meeting the established goals. Click here to download the new goals.